Stub Review: Safe House

Safe House

*Gun shot* *Explosion* *Gun shot* *Gun shot*

Those sound effect comprised about 87% of this film. Now according to my girlfriend that was a bad thing, but to me it was a good thing. Ryan Reynolds and Denzel Washington come together with this Bourne-lite action film that brings together gun play style of Heat and the action packed fisticuffs of a Jason Bourne movie (or should we now call them Aaron Cross films?)

This is the first Stub Review on my blog where I actually enjoyed the film…did not love it, but enjoyed it. Reynolds and Washington really never had a dynamic “Midnight Run” chemistry, that made you want to see them together on screen the whole time…actually, I liked their scenes apart more than anything. Reynolds really felt right in the beginning of the film, when he is portraying a loveable-loser type that can’t break the glass ceiling of his job, where his only duty is to baby-sit a Safe House that never gets used…but when a hurricane of acting known as Denzel Washington gets brought to his facility (and water-boarded to a shockingly realistic degree), Reynolds just plays side-kick for the rest of the film.

I feel bad for Reynolds, cause he has a niche that I don’t think translates to serious action films, but for a non-serious (*cough*Deadpool*cough*), sarcastic (*cough*Deadpool*cough*), 4th wall breaking character (*cough*Deadpool*cough*), Reynolds would shine brighter than the sun; sorry for that coughing fit.

 Back to the film at hand…like I mentioned off handily in the opening, this film doesn’t ooze, but freaking floods of a Jason Bourne like movie. Denzel is the black Bourne, the man that can use a gun, but when in close range can whip your ass with his plain fists. We cut back and forth from the main action of Reynolds/Denzel to the subsiding government story, just like the Bourne films have made famous. We are not set in America, but in South Africa, bringing a life the beautiful-on-screen cinematography that the geography brings…just like the Bourne films did for most of Europe. Don’t even get me started on the fast cutting; shaky camera work this films exploits dramatically. Now I have no problem with the Bourne films spawning off copycats, but the problem of this film is that it just comes off a copycat Bourne style film, that adds nothing of originality that make it more memorable.

That is my major problem with the film, that during the film I get put on a fun action packed ride, but after I leave the theater I give the movie no bigger thought than “It was good.” When I walked out of the Bourne films (sorry to keep using them as my measuring stick), I just had those films stuck in my head for hours after the movie, just re-thinking the great fights, the car chases, the story, the characters…everything. Here though…I can’t even right now think of what Reynolds characters name is off the top of my head.

I give Safe House a SIX out of TEN, on the scale of film merit and overall quality.

But I give it an even bigger ELEVEN out of TEN, on the scale of gun shot sound effect quality.

One response to “Stub Review: Safe House

  1. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

Leave a Reply

